Card image cap


The territory of Yerevan is 233 km², the population is 1068 thousand people.

Yerevan is the capital of the Republic of Armenia.

Date of foundation: 782 BC

First mentioned: 782 BC

Area: 223 km²

Height ASL: 900-1100 m

Climate type: temperate continental

Official language: Armenian

Population: 1068 thousand people (2014)

Ethnic composition: Armenians (98.9%, 2011)

Religious composition: Christian (96.5%, 2011)

Time zone: UTC+4

Telephone codes: +374

Postal Code: 0001-0099

ISO 3166-2 code: AM-ER

Official website:

Yerevan is a legal entity, has got the right to property and other ownership rights. Yerevan has a budget, as well as the seal with the coat of arms of the Republic of Armenia and its name. The local self-governance is Yerevan is based on the statutory principles determined by RA Law "On local self-governance" providing proportional development of all administrative districts of Yerevan.

Yerevan self-governance bodies are Yerevan Council of Elders and Yerevan Mayor. Local self-governance bodies work at their seat located at 1, Argishti street. By the decision of the Council of Elders, the Council can carry out its activities (including holding session) in other places too.

Territorial administration in Yerevan is conducted by the RA Ministry of Territorial Administration. By the decision of the Government certain functions of territorial administration in Yerevan can be delegated to other bodies of the executive power of the republic. 

Yerevan is located in the northeastern part of Ararat valley, on both banks of the Hrazdan river, on the altitude of 900-1200 m above sea level. The administrative boundaries of Yerevan are determined by the RA Law "On the administrative territorial dividing". Yerevan borders on Ararat, Armavir, Aragatsotn and Kotayk marzes (provinces) of Armenia.

For the purpose of effective local self-government and territorial management and for making local self-government institutions of Yerevan maximally accessible for population the city of Yerevan is divided into 12 administrative districts:

  • Ajapnyak
  • Avan
  • Arabkir
  • Davtashen
  • Erebuni
  • Kentron
  • Malatia-Sebastia
  • Nor Norq
  • Norq-Marash
  • Nubarashen
  • Shengavit
  • Qanaqer-Zeytun

Contact information of administrative districts: PDF (300KB)



The author of the emblem is Albert Sokhikyan.